
Photo: Maheshwaran Shanmugam / Pexels
Onsen · Tattoos · Private baths
Onsen, without the guesswork.
Every rule read from the bath's own Japanese website, quoted, and dated. Know before you go.
Counts from our data as of Oct 29, 2026. "Not stated on the official site" never counts as a yes.

Tattoo-friendly onsen
Open to all, with a cover sticker, or within a size limit — in the official wording.
Photo: Iban Lopez Luna / Pexels

Photo: Akira Deng / Pexels

Will a sticker be enough?
Every cover-sticker and size rule we found, quoted from the official site with the date we checked.
Photo: Ngeow Shen Sin / Pexels

Tokyo's set public-bath fee, from Aug 1, 2026
Set by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government for ordinary public bathhouses (sento).

Hakone箱根
Hot-spring town in the mountains of Kanagawa, about 90 minutes from Tokyo.
Photo: Valeria Gutiérrez / Pexels

Find by what matters
Start with your question

Tattoo-friendly onsen
Open to all, with a cover sticker, or within a size limit — in the official wording.
Photo: Iban Lopez Luna / Pexels


Photo: Akira Deng / Pexels
Onsen towns
Where the water is
Tattoo cover stickers
Will a sticker be enough? It depends on the place.
- Fukagawa Onsen TokiwayuTattoos of any kind must be small enough to be covered by the palm of your hand.
- Hakone Kowakien YunessunOnly when the tattoo can be completely covered with two designated tattoo cover seals (paid).
- Hakone Yumoto Onsen Yoshiike RyokanGuests whose tattoos can be covered with two 10 cm × 14 cm cover stickers may use the baths.
Rules that changed
Tokyo's set public-bath fee, from Aug 1, 2026
- Adults (12 and over) (大人(12歳以上の者)): ¥600
- Children (ages 6–11) (中人(6歳以上12歳未満の者)): ¥200
- Children (under 6) (小人(6歳未満の者)): ¥100
Set by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government for ordinary public bathhouses (sento). Where a bathhouse's own site shows no price or an older one, our pages show this fee and say so.
公衆浴場入浴料金の統制額 / 大人(12歳以上の者) 600円 (現行550円) / 中人(6歳以上12歳未満の者) 200円 (据え置き) / 小人(6歳未満の者) 100円 (据え置き) / 実施時期 / 令和8年8月1日Our promise
Checked at the official source. Dated. Not ranked.
Labels
What the tattoo labels mean
- Tattoos: Tattoos OK
- The official site says people with tattoos can bathe.
- Tattoos: Allowed with limits
- Allowed, but with a limit the site spells out — for example a maximum size or certain hours only. We show the limit in the original Japanese with an English translation.
- Tattoos: OK if covered
- Allowed if you cover the tattoo (for example with a patch). Size limits are listed when the site gives them.
- Tattoos: Private bath only
- Not in the shared baths, but the site says a private bath is fine.
- Tattoos: Tattoos not allowed
- The official site says people with tattoos can't use the baths.
- Tattoos: Not stated
- The official site doesn't mention tattoos at all. That's useful to know too — ask before you go.
- Tattoos: Still checking
- We found wording on the site but haven't confirmed it yet, so we don't show it.